Zucchini-Crust Pizza

by Petrel

zucchinipizza2wmsm

In my efforts to find alternatives for recipes including lots of refined carbs and my need {yes, NEED} to satisfy my pizza cravings,  I have been forced to find a replacement for the traditional wheat flour crust. I’ve found a recipe using cauliflower {Very good–I’ll have to post that recipe at a later time.}  and then I ran across the following recipe in The New Moosewood Cookbook, an excellent vegetarian recipe book which has been around for ages–since before vegetarianism became “normal”. {I also found some other recipes which I am eager to try in the near future.}

This is a delicious and amazingly simple  alternative to a traditional crust. Plus, it gets me another healthy serving of vegies, too. Bonus!

Zucchini-Crust Pizza (Adapted from The New Moosewood Cookbook)

  • 1- 1 1/2  cup grated zucchini (approx. 1-7 inch zucchini)
  • 1/2 cup mozzarella
  • 2 T. flour
  • 1/4 tsp basil
  • 1/4 tsp oregano
  • pinch freshly ground pepper
  • 1 egg
  • 3-4 three long sprays oil (I used garlic oil)

Pre-heat oven to 400F. Grate zucchini and squeeze out excess juice. {I just used my hands, taking a big handful and squeezing out the extra juice.} In a medium bowl, mix together zucchini,  mozzarella, flour, and spices. Add egg and stir until coated. Spray a cast iron pan/pie pan {or use whatever you have.  A parchment paper-lined cookie sheet also works.} with oil. {Make sure you spray the bottom enough that you can get the pizza out later on.} Pat zucchini mixture into the pan. Spray lightly with oil. Bake 35-40 minutes or until browned on top.
Remove from oven and let rest for five minutes. Loosen the edges and check to see that the bottom is free from the pan. {This will help you later when you try to remove your pizza.}
zucchinipizza1wmsm

Look at that yumminess. It was still bubbling from the oven when I took this picture.

Top with whatever pizza “dressing” you desire.

I used:

  • tomato sauce
  • baby spinach
  • pre-cooked cubed chicken breast
  • sliced mushrooms
  • more mozzarella
Return to the oven and bake for 20 minutes or so, or until cheese is melted and toppings are heated through.
Enjoy!
Serves 2 @ half a pizza per person. 1 serving (2 quarters) = 7 WWP+

zucchinipizza3croppedwmsm

Leave a comment