Archive for July 28th, 2011

July 28, 2011

Cherry Chicken Wrap

by Petrel

cherrychickenwrap3wmsm

So for tonight’s dinner, I was inspired by Kevin’s post at Closet Cooking which featured Chipotle Cherry Salsa. I had a bag of fresh cherries in the fridge and decided to create something similar using what I had in the house.

My pantry does not contain something as exotic as duck {I only wish it did–I love duck.}, but I always have chicken breast. So I whipped up {all spur-of-the-moment like} my own cherry-themed wrap. I could hardly wait to devour this baby, but I was able to restrain myself in order to take some pics . . . and then I chowed down.

cherrychickenwrap2wmsm
People, it was amazing!! The cherry “sauce” {salsa?} was sweet and tart, and coupled with the creamy avocado and cottage cheese, it created a wonderful combination of flavours.

Here’s the recipe:

Cherry Chicken Wrap

cherrychickenwrap1wmsm

Ingredients:

1/2 chicken breast, cooked and sliced

1 large tortilla wrap

1 large handful baby spinach

1/4 cup cottage cheese 1%

1/2 small avocado

Cherry Sauce:

3/4 cup cherries, halved and pitted

1/2 T. red wine vinegar

Directions:

(Cook chicken and slice into strips.)

Place halved and pitted cherries in a non-stick pan pre-heated on medium-high. Cook covered until juices begin to run out and simmer for 5-7 minutes. Stir in red wine vinegar. {My cherries did not need any thickener, but it really depends on your cherries and your own particular tastes. I thought that thickening the juice would make it a bit too much like cherry pie filling–which is not what I was going for–so I left it out. }

Place tortilla on a plate and top with baby spinach, chicken, cherries, cottage cheese, and avocado. Fold up the bottom of the wrap and fold in the sides. Enjoy!

WWP+ = 13